Stay of execution

2 06 2009

Working in sports, you can measure how much a moment means to you by how much you stick around after the match. When I worked at the Canucks, friends would tell me I was so lucky because I could hang out and watch every game. But nothing could be further from the truth. You work so hard day in and day out that most of the time you just want to go home. Sure, I stuck around for the big ones, but more often than not, I was content to just watch from home or at a pub with friends.

Working at the Whitecaps, I hardly ever miss a match – pretty much only if I’m out of town. I enjoy the atmosphere and I enjoy the closeness I feel to the club and thus I don’t want to miss a moment. But I will say, once the game is over, I want outta there. I don’t stick around, I just want to get home or onto whatever plans I have for the evening.

When a game like this occurs, however, you become like a kid at Playland. You just wander around with a perma-grin. Last night, I found myself going up to anyone I knew to shake hands, pat on the back, high five, whatever. When players were being interviewed I lingered, when fans were chanting in the concourse, I applauded. I just didn’t want to miss a thing. I wanted to be a sponge and soak it in. Tuesday night’s match reminded everyone how great following a club can be. I don’t want to even think about the future, but rather just enjoy what we have before us. Let this moment linger, just like me post-match on Tuesday.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

