Bad boy Gerrard

31 12 2008

Well if you haven’t heard already (and if you haven’t, you could simply look on my facebook wall and see the numerous ribbings from my friends), the great Steven Gerrard has been charged with assault over an altercation with a DJ at a lounge. The incident came hours after Liverpool defeated Newcastle 5-1 with Gerrard, scoring two goals.

Not a whole lot has been released about what happened and who was at fault, so I can’t really speculate on that. But I can say that being a famous athlete must be difficult. There is always a chance of an altercation at a bar, especially amongst men. I was at a pub last night to watch the Canucks game and a scrap almost broke out right beside me. Famous people probably get targeted even more than the average person. More importantly, the urge to fight or defend oneself doesn’t go away no matter how famous you become. So you end up seeing situations where things escalate between an athlete and another person, a fight ensues, and then the athlete takes the PR hit.

Furthermore, assault to me has always been a shady charge. In any altercation I have been in or around, both sides are pretty much equally at fault and are entering the fight bearing the same amount of risk. Again, I don’t know the particulars of the incident, but these two points come to mind.

On that note, have a safe and happy new year’s evening. I hope 2008 was a good one for you and 2009 is even better.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

