The Monday Memo

8 12 2008

What’s making me laugh – This video is so well done and a great example of marketing done well.  What makes it great is the content is first and foremost and the company is secondary.  When watching it, you’re just enjoying some clever writing.  You have no idea what product or company is being pitched at your until the end.  This is exactly the brainchild I am trying to develop for the Whitecaps ’09 campaign, and I think I might just have the idea.

But I digress.  Here’s the link.  Not only is it funny, but a little too close for comfort for this newlywed.

What soccer clip I’m watching – I mentioned it yesterday, but that Aston Villa – Everton match was magical.  You can catch a 12 minute highlight of the match here.

What I’m listening to – I like Kanye’s new album, 808s & Heartbreak.  I’m not crazy about this new wave of AutoTune music.  It feels like cheating to me.  But it’s a good listen and the album as a whole plays well.  He’s still an egomaniac and still hypocritical, but that’s what we’ve come to love and that’s what he delivers.

What I’m reading – Thanks to a very thoughtful birthday present from my mother-in-law, I’m now in possession of Malcolm Gladwell’s latest book, Outliers.  In this one, Malcolm explores how success is manifest and uncovers a lot of misconceptions about how we both define and attribute success.  And if that doesn’t interest you enough, the first chapter talks about our very own Vancouver Giants and Canadian hockey development.  Here’s the link.

What I’m considering – I’m 85% sure I’m going to do this, but haven’t made the full commitment yet.  Essentially, you raise money for cancer research by biking from Vancouver to Seattle.  I bike every day to work, from Kitsilano to Gastown (7.2 km each way).  I used to do it in the summer only, but I now have the appropriate attire to do it year-round.  But I’m still not one of those hardcore cycler dudes like you see out there with spandex on and bikes that weigh 6 lbs.  It sounds like you don’t have to be one of those people to do this, so as soon as I can mentally get over that image, I’m pretty certain I will take it up.  You have to raise a minimum of $2500 to do it, so it could be a fun project to do from January to June.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

